Meta Buttnick Award

The Washington State Jewish Historical Society (WSJHS) is proud to honor another amazing volunteer with the Meta Buttnick Award.

The 2018 honoree is Dr. Howard Droker.
Howard Droker grew up in Seattle, attended religion school at Temple de Hirsch, earned a Ph.D in History and a Law degree at the University of Washington. He taught Pacific Northwest History at UW and wrote Seattle's Unsinkable Houseboats. He is a founder of WSJHS, was the first Jewish Archivist at the UW Manuscripts Collection, and is a co-author of Family of Strangers: Building a Jewish Community in Washington State. Now retired from the practice of law, Howard and wife Barbara have a son, daughter and three grandchildren. Howard continues to volunteer with WSJHS by frequently providing tours and serving as an adviser to the Archives.

To make a tribute in honor of Dr. Droker, complete the form below.

The Meta Buttnick Award was established in 2002 to recognize exemplary volunteer service to the WSJHS. The first recipient of the award subsequently named in her honor was Meta Buttnick, z"l. She served WSJHS in many ways including historian, contributor to Nizkor; and a staunch supporter.

Tribute Information
In honor of
Suggested minimum of $36
Donor Information
Credit Card Information
Visa MasterCard

Visa®, Mastercard® & Discover® cardholders
Your security code is the 3-digit code at the end of the signature field on your card's back.

American Express® cardholders
Your security code is the 4-digit code located above the actual credit card number on your card's front.

Make this a monthly payment?
Make this a monthly payment?
Cover the fee associated with this online transaction?
Cover the fee associated with this online transaction?
Your total payment will be

The award has previously been given to the following recipients:

Meta Buttnick (2002)
Erika Michael (2003)
Lilly De Jaen (2004)
Rabbi Jim Mirel (2005)
Herb Lipman (2006)
Doris Stiefel (2007)
Ernie Stiefel (2007)
Jeanette Schrieber (2008)
Mildred Rosenbaum (2008)
Dennis Warshal (2009)
Joyce Dickhaut (2010)
Eugene Normand (2011)
Ruth Sassoon (2012)
Betsy Schneier (2013)
Nancy Blase (2014)
Stuart Eskenazi (2015)
Carol Starin (2015)
Dennis Goldstein (2016)
Albert Israel (2017)
Howard Droker (2018)